Awards & Prizes

Gertrude J. Robinson Book Prize

The Robinson Book Prize is named in honour of the many contributions of Professor Gertrude J. Robinson to the discipline of communication in Canada and around the world. It was initiated by Professor David Taras, President of the Canadian Communication Association in 1998-1999. Nominees for the Robinson Book Prize must have published a monograph in the previous calendar year, and be a member of the Canadian Communication Association. See past winners below.

Deadline: March 3rd, 2018

Nominations should be sent electronically to the attention of the current CCA President (please send a copy of your email to, and must indicate the book’s title, author, publisher, date of publication and author’s complete affiliation and contact information. Please see eligibility and criteria here.

Authors will be notified directly of their nomination and will be responsible for having examination copies of their book submitted to the jury by a pre-set deadline and to ensure that they are members in good standing of the CCA within four weeks of being notified.


2017 - Nicole Cohen, UTM, Writers’ Rights: Freelance Journalism in a Digital Age, McGill-Queen's University Press.

2016 - Nick Dyer-Witheford (Western University), Cyberproletariat: Global Labour in the Digital Vortex (Toronto: Pluto Press/Between the Lines, 2015)

2015  -  Mark Munsterhjelm, University of Windsor, for Living Dead in the Pacific: Contested Sovereignty and Racism in Genetic Research on Taiwan Aborigines (UBC Press 2014)

2014 - John Bonnett, Department of History, Brock University, for Emergence and Empire: Innis, Complexity, and the Trajectory of History (McGill-Queen’s University Press 2013)

2013 - Bart Beaty, Department of English, University of Calgary for Comics versus Art (University of Toronto Press 2012)

2012 - Neil Gerlach, Sheryl N. Hamilton, Rebecca Sullivan and Priscilla L. Walton for Becoming Biosubjects: Bodies, Systems, Technologies (University of Toronto Press 2011)

2011 - Peter van Wyck, Dept. of Communication Studies, Concordia University
Highway of the Atom (McGill-Queen's University Press 2010)

2010 - Jody Berland, Dept. of Humanities, York University
North of Empire: Essays on the Cultural Technologies of Space (Duke University Press, 2009)

2009 - Paul Moore, Dept. of Sociology, Ryerson University
Now Playing: Early Moviegoing and the Regulation of Fun (SUNY Press, 2008)

2008 - Dwayne R. Winseck, School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University
Robert M. Pike, Sociology, Queen's University at Kingston
Communication and Empire (Duke University Press, 2007)

2007 - Michéle Martin, School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University
Images at War: Illustrated Periodicals and Constructed Nations (University of Toronto Press, 2006)

2006 - Bart Beaty, Faculty of Communication and Culture, University of Calgary
Fredric Wertham and the Critique of Mass Culture (University Press of Mississippi, 2005)

2005 - Peter van Wyck, Dept. of Communication Studies, Concordia University
Signs of Danger: Waste, Trauma and Nuclear Threat (University of Minnesota Press, 2004)

2004 - Charles Acland, Dept. of Communication Studies, Concordia University
Screen Traffic: Movies, Multiplexes, and Global Culture (Duke University Press, 2003)

2003 - Michael Dorland, School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University
Maurice Charland, Dept. of Communication Studies, Concordia University
Law, Rhetoric and Irony in the Formation of Canadian Civil Culture (University of Toronto Press, 2002)

2002 - no award conferred

2001 - Karim H. Karim, School of Communication, Carleton University
The Islamic Peril, Media and Global Violence (Black Rose Press, 2000)

Follow Us


Annual Meeting


Become a Member


Renew Membership


Join the Listserv


Canadian Communication Association / Copyright 2016, All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software