Awards & Prizes

Beaverbrook Media@McGill Student/CCA Paper Prize

Media@McGill and the CCA sponsor a $1,000 award for the best student paper submitted to the CCA annual conference (known prior to 2010 as the Van Horne Prize).

Submission deadline: April 2nd 2018

Nominated papers should be sent electronically (.pdf) to the current CCA President. Title page must indicate paper’s title, the author’s name, contact info, university affiliation, and degree status. Only papers accepted for presentation at the CCA annual conference are eligible. Please verify eligibility and selection criteria here.

Prize Recipients

2017 - Jenna Stidwill, Carleton University, It All Started with a Bibliography: American Animation Studies from Fandom to Discipline, 1966-1981

2016  -  Karen Dewalt McEwan, University of Toronto, for "The Political Economy of Self-Tracking Practices: Digital (Re)Productive Labour" 

2015 - Jason Rothery, PhD Candidate, Carleton University, for "Advertising Agency: Mass Effect and the FTC"

2014Joey Brooke Jakob, PhD Candidate, Ryerson and York Universities, Toronto, for “War Photography After Abu Ghraib: A Preliminary Analysis ”

2013Nora Draper, PhD Candidate, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania for "Rethinking Citizen photojournalism: Mediated Witnessing and the Obligations of Citizen Bystanders"

2012 - Tamara Shepherd, PhD Candidate, Communication Studies, Concordia University for "Apprenticeship Labour in User-generated Content".

2011Christopher Cwynar, PhD Candidate, Media & Cultural Studies,University of Wisconsin-Madison “Mashed Potatoes with ‘Intercommunicative’ Gravy: Q’s Billy Bob Thornton Interview as ‘New Media Event’”

2010 - Karine Bellerive, étudiante à la maîtrise, Université de Sherbrooke for "Discussions sur les genres : des Québécoises de la génération X parlent d’autofiction au féminin"

2009 - Erin Despard, PhD Candidate, Communication Studies, Concordia University
"Crime Prevention and the Urban Landscape: Questions for Environmental Communication"

2008 - Rob McMahon, PhD Candidate, School of Communication, Simon Fraser University
“Bringing Peace to Practice?: The Need to Consider Journalism Practice when Reforming Aboriginal Media Coverage in Canada"

2007 - Jason Hannan, PhD Candidate, School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University
“George Herbert Mead's Ideational Network and Contribution to Intellectual Capital"

2006 - Naomi Fraser, PhD Candidate, Communication and Culture Program, York University
“Model Users and Civilized Flows”

2005 - Aliaa Dakroury, PhD Candidate, School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University
“Whose Right to Communicate: Al-Jazeera or CRTC?”

2004 - Faiza Hirji, PhD Candidate, School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University
“When Local Meets Lucre: Commerce and Culture in Bollywood Cinema”

2003 - Boulou E. de B'béri, Joint PhD Program in Communications, Concordia University
“Africanicity in Black Cinemas: A Conjunctural Ground for New Expressions of Identity”

Follow Us


Annual Meeting


Become a Member


Renew Membership


Join the Listserv


Canadian Communication Association / Copyright 2016, All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software